When some people talk about their home state to other people, they often sugarcoat the flaws or claim that they have no flaws at all, but you and I know better. I’ve lived in one of your suburban neighborhoods for too many years to believe that you, or any other state, is perfect. Perfection is overrated, though, and isn’t nearly as interesting.

There are times when I imagine walking the streets of your older and wiser brother, New York. There are also other times when I am living in your aunt; Connecticut, and even for a brief period in your distant, twice-removed relative; England. Wherever I end up, you will always be my home state and despite your questionable drivers, and even more questionable governor, there are a lot of aspects about you that I enjoy.

Read full article on Odyssey.
Follow Ariana Puzzo on Twitter @ari_puzzo

Leave a Reply

