My final week abroad: it was a time that I thought was far off in the future. However, now that I have said goodbye to London, it seems like it was only yesterday that I packed up my life and left the familiarity of the United States for four and a half months. Despite ending my abroad experience with a persistent fever that limited my activity, the end of the week was still something special as I said goodbye to CIEE and greeted my parents who flew out to spend some time with me in the city that I began to consider my temporary home.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

On Thursday, CIEE had a farewell gathering for us. At 7:30 p.m., we all walked to Holborn station and took the tube to Queensway station. There, we gathered at All Star Lanes, which serves as a pub and bowling alley. We all were given a chance to mill around the bar and were given different pick foods to eat, such as chicken fingers, mini burgers and fried Mac & Cheese, and then the lanes opened up for us. Bowling skills must skip a few generations because even though my father’s father was an excellent bowler, I did not quite inherit the gene, only bowling a 91 and effectively losing a slap bet to Erin who said that she would beat me and bowled a 93. You win some, you lose some.

6363064987782391031728275634_IMG_8954

Read full article on Odyssey.
Follow Ariana Puzzo on Twitter @ari_puzzo

Leave a Reply

