It’s hard to believe that it was only three weeks ago that I left the familiarity of my hometown in New Jersey and arrived in London. Last week, I planned visits to a variety of sites around the city and other places; I stumbled across by happy accident. Here’s a recount of my latest adventures!

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Now that I have lived at my accommodation for a couple of weeks and have attended my classes at least half a dozen times, the walk to the Global Institute is practically as familiar as the back of my hand. On the way, I walk down Mabledon Place, which leads onto Marchmont Street, where the bookstore Gay’s The Word can be found. I passed it the previous week during orientation when we went on our walking tour and I knew that I would have to go back to check it out. It turns out that Jan. 17 was the bookstore’s 38th anniversary and I ended up returning the next day to buy the book Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg. Since having finished Konigsberg’s book, I returned to buy new books, A Boy’s Own Story by Edmund White, as well as The Boy I Love and Paper Moonby Marion Husband.

636208933728360706-1346281197_unnamed-3

Read full article on Odyssey.

Follow Ariana Puzzo on Twitter @ari_puzzo

Leave a Reply

