All of the ballots are in and the votes are counted; yet nearly week later, the 2016 Presidential Election results still feel like a fever dream. When I first heard the news, I was in The Fairfield Mirror’s newsroom for what was going on 11 hours — and would remain there for about another four hours. Simply put, I was stunned. Donald Trump was now our president-elect and for a split second, it felt that my vote was irrelevant. However, as the news sunk in during those early hours on Wednesday morning, I realized that my vote did matter more than I could have realized when I mailed in my absentee ballot the previous week. Here are the reasons why my vote mattered.

My vote mattered because even though our options were limited, I chose to educate myself on which candidate I believed would put our country’s best interests first.

Read full article on Odyssey

Leave a Reply

