When we left off with the expression “all was well” on the final page of “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”, most of us thought that would be the end of the beloved series. Although I have encountered many people who disagree with me, I was content with how the series ended – I’ve always been a sucker for a happy ending since life seldom works that way. However, J.K. Rowling decided this past year that she had not fully exhausted the “Harry Potter” saga. “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” is a newly released play on West End that had its script released on July 31 in the form of a book. The reaction to the new installment was tumultuous. The story follows the life of Harry’s second son Albus Severus as he goes to Hogwarts 19 years after Harry defeated Lord Voldemort and saved the Wizarding World for the second time. Here are the five things that I liked and the five things that I did not like about “Cursed Child.”

What I liked:

1. Albus’ friendship with Scorpius Malfoy, the son of Draco, is by far my favorite part of the new story. Despite the people around them blacklisting them because Albus doesn’t live up to the legacy that his father had before he and Scorpius are thought to be the progeny of Voldemort, they always find a way to stand by each other. They are both sorted into Slytherin – in the sorting scene that reminds me of when Harry followed Ron into Gryffindor – and I think that their relief to together make them the new “Harry and Ron” duo for me. I love the immediate connection that they form as outcasts and I wish that their bond was focused on more throughout the story.

Read full article on The Odyssey Online

Leave a Reply

