Historically, the presidential debates are meant to provide the country with insight into the views and future plans of candidates in both the Republican and Democratic Parties. However, as I continue to pay greater attention to politics so that I can be informed when the time comes to vote in elections, I have noticed how the presidential debates seem greatly sensationalized for the sake of audience entertainment. When I watch the debates, I want to learn why I should or should not support a candidate from either party, rather than spending two hours struggling to hear them speak over one another. Moving forward, I believe that we need to return to the reason the debates exist in the first place because somewhere along the way, their purpose has been lost.

Read full article on The Fairfield Mirror

Leave a Reply

